By – Shubhendra Singh Rajawat

Kishori Lal Sharma, a Congress contender, has filed his nomination for the Amethi Lok Sabha constituency. He is seen as a supporter of the Gandhi family and the Congress Party.

Kishori Lal Sharma, the Congress contender for the Amethi Lok Sabha constituency, filed her nomination on Friday afternoon. This seat is regarded to be the Gandhi family’s bastion. Before getting his nomination, he visited the Collectorate while on a roadshow from the Congress office. Hundreds of Congress personnel were present throughout this time.

It is reported that the Gandhi family rewarded KL Sharma for his commitment. He is originally from Ludhiana, Punjab. Rajiv Gandhi first introduced him to Amethi in 1983. He has since stayed here. Sharma remained working for the Congress Party MP even after the Gandhi family quit contesting elections from here following Rajiv Gandhi’s death in 1991.

After being elected Sonia Gandhi’s MP from Rae Bareli, he served as her representative. When Sonia Gandhi did not run in the elections, Kishori was considered a candidate for Rae Bareli, but the party changed her to Amethi.

Since 1999, the Gandhi family has occupied the seat.

Sonia Gandhi contested for her first election in 1999 from Amethi, one of Uttar Pradesh’s most prominent constituencies. In 2004, he gave up his seat to Rahul Gandhi. Rahul Gandhi won elections in 2004, 2009, and 2014, but lost the 2019 election against BJP candidate Smriti Irani. In 1998, Captain Satish Sharma, a close friend of the Gandhi family, contested for this seat. Since then, this seat has been allocated for the Gandhi family. These MPs have remained in Amethi till now.

Vidyadhar Bajpai represented Congress in 1967, 1971, and 1977, while Ravindra Pratap Singh represented Bharatiya Lok Dal.
From 1980 until 1998, Congress leaders included Sanjay Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Satish Sharma, and Sanjay Singh.
Sonia Gandhi represented the Congress in 1999, Rahul Gandhi in 2004, Rahul Gandhi in 2009, Rahul Gandhi in 2014, and Smriti Zubin Irani for the BJP in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *