By – Shubhendra Singh Rajawat

Mallikarjun Kharge is named INDIA bloc chairperson, while Nitish Kumar is given a prominent role.

Mallikarjun Kharge, the president of the Congress Party, has been named head of the opposition INDIA bloc. After weeks of wrangling among the alliance parties, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was also appointed convener. The decision was made unanimously at a virtual conference of the top leaders of the INDIA bloc on Saturday.

New Delhi, Dec 22 (ANI): Leaders of INDIA alliance parties, including Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, party leader Rahul Gandhi, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar, Communist Party of India (Marxist) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, West Bengal Congress Chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Communist Party of India (CPI) General Secretary D Raja and others, hold hands while staging a protest against the suspension of 146 Opposition MPs from the Parliament’s Winter Session, in New Delhi on Friday. (ANI Photo/Ayush Sharma)

People acquainted with the issue stated that Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav and Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee, who were not present at the meeting, will be informed of the decision.

The coalition, created to confront the Narendra Modi-led BJP juggernaut in the 2024 general election, had been experiencing internal hurdles over a number of topics, including the contentious selection of a convenor. The JD(U) wanted Nitish Kumar to be the convener, but the TMC was opposed, according to PTI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *